Is this what God wants from me

Is this what God wants of me I’ve often wondered
Go to church every Sunday
Show my true dedication by putting some money in the plate
Talking about my favorite football team after the “service”
Trying to decide where we’re going for lunch
Finding a nice woman to marry that will go to church with me for the rest of our lives
Someone to have kids with
To raise in the church
Is this what God wants from me
Go to my job on Monday
Go home to my family in the evening
Say a prayer of thanksgiving for our food
Right down the street, is there anyone hungry
Is this what God wants
Be faithful to my wife
Don’t cuss
Give my money to a church
I believe in God
Is this what some call faith
Yes it is
It’s easy to see for anyone
Anyone that’s looking
Is this what God wants from me
To show up on Sunday for an hour
Listen without questioning
Believe without seeing
Pretending it’s fine when I know it’s not
Being silent because everyone else pretends it’s fine
Is this what God wants for me
Is this all Jesus died for
For me to live my life the way that I decide
And stamp it with a religious dedication that truly has more to do with me than it does with God
Is this what God wants from me
For some it’s best not to say anything and just go with the flow
For a few more they understand these words but they are stuck and afraid to stand
Because perhaps no one will stand beside them
Is this what God wants from me
Silence
No one cares
The way things are done works just fine
Jesus, is it you that I’m worshiping on Sunday
Or is it me
Silence
Is this what God wants from me

Leave a Reply

