Give up, Don’t

I made this video in May 2013, it was a big part in helping raise the money for me to purchase the up n free walker. It was June 2013 that I got the walker and started using it. The majority of my day I still have to rely on a wheelchair but the upnfree as been an indescribable blessing. I use it almost everyday after work and am still seeing progress. My walking isn’t pretty and very far from perfect and I believe it will get better but anytime I’m on my feet or take steps it’s a miracle and worth it to me. Anytime I’m on my feet is a good time.

A spinal cord injury isn’t the easiest thing to live with. But whether you can walk or not life can still be a rough road. I do believe that life is what you make it and with my spinal cord injury even though I have to use a wheelchair and even though it’s been many years I still have the ability and the potential to physically make great unimaginable improvements. Whether I see much or little or no progress from my efforts there is no reason for me to back down from fighting as hard as I possibly can to be as good as I know I can be. I believe what a physical therapist told me years ago and I knew it before she told me: I am no where near as good as I possibly could be.

I read that for a spinal cord injury to make progress, to do it is like having to break through cement. I keep at it, sometimes I think I see progress and sometimes I’m not so sure, but I know. If you have a spinal cord injury, don’t give up. Don’t settle. We have one life to live in this world, I say it’s best to give it our everything.

Looking back on this video, I’m doing better than I was then. Possibly only a little better but none the less. I will keep trying, you should too.

3 thoughts on “Give up, Don’t

  1. I love this! How you can stay positive in such a situation is amazing. Also think it takes a lot of mental strength to keep that attitude and to keep going. Very admirable.

  2. Thank you Linn, appreciate the feedback and encouragement. Of course there are days I don’t feel like I have any more to give, but that’s normal I think. With God all things are possible. Thank you again!

    • You’re most welcome. Tough days will come, but that’s just part of life.

      Also, If you haven’t already, I’d really appreciate if you’d have a look at my blog, and let me know if you find it interesting. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

